Chinese Paper Lanterns

Chinese paper lanterns are a really great craft for cutting, measuring and ruler practice.  I think my son got the idea from the Treehouse website, but I’m not 100% sure.  I just know that he came and asked me if we could make paper lanterns after playing some games on treehouse.com.  I didn’t know exactly what he was talking about, so I googled something about paper lanterns and found this site.

What you need:

  • construction paper
  • marker
  • ruler
  • scissors
  • scotch tape

How we made them:

  1. Cut a 1 ” strip from a long side of your piece of construction paper.  This will be used for the handle.
  2. Fold your paper in half, long sides together.
  3. Draw a line about 1.5 inches from the long sides that you have just folded together.
  4. Draw lines about 1 inch apart from the folded edge of the paper down to the line that you drew in step 3 (see picture above for visual).
  5. Cut along the vertical lines that you just drew being sure to stop at the line drawn in step 3.
  6. Unfold your paper.*
  7. Tape the two short ends together and tape the handle to the top.

*At this point, for a more finished look, you can refold the paper the other way so that the marker lines are on the inside.

 

2 thoughts on “Chinese Paper Lanterns

  1. Thanks for reminding me of this craft! I now remember making these often when I was a kid. I used to decorate the paper before making the cuts. It will be fun to revisit them when Kate is a bit older.

Leave a Reply

