Bubble Snakes

I finally joined Pinterest a few weeks ago, and kinda went nuts looking through stuff and getting new ideas for crafts, cooking and kids activities.  I had been putting off joining because I thought that when I joined, I was going to waste huge amounts of time browsing.  I have been pleasantly surprised to find that I can browse very quickly and re-pin things and then when I want to do an activity, I have a whole bunch of ideas to choose from.  I actually has been a time saver, because now I have one resource to go to when searching for new activities.  Anyways, all this to say that I found this idea through another idea that a friend had posted on Pinterest.  It’s again from the Juggling With Kids blog (that’s where I found the Fireworks in a vase idea).

What you need:

  • plastic bottle
  • old face cloth
  • dish soap
  • elastic band

How you do it:

  1. Cut out the bottom of your plastic bottle.
  2. Cut your old face cloth into a circle big enough to cover the bottom of your bottle and to go part way up the side.
  3. Secure face cloth to the bottle with your elastic band.
  4. Fill a medium sized bowl with water and add a squirt of dish soap.
  5. Blow into the top of the bottle.

NOTE:  I think we added too much soap!  We couldn’t get really long snakes and it took a whole bunch of air to get medium snakes.

This was a fun activity, but much messier than regular bubbles.  We’ll probably stick to regular bubbles to keep so much soap off our yard, hair, clothes etc.!

Leave a Reply

